AE-FUNAI Holds Maiden SUG Election

  • It was an opportunity to deepen democratic culture among Students – VC
  • It was a free, fair and credible exercise – Students

History was made at the Alex Ekwueme Federal University Ndufu-Alike, Ebonyi State, yesterday, as the institution held its first SUG election. The University, which was established in 2011 has never had any students’ body until 2017 when the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Chinedum Nwajiuba constituted a caretaker Council to oversee the affairs of students in the institution and also to midwife the process that would lead to an elected Students’ Union Government.  That process was consummated yesterday with the election of the first crop of students’ leaders in the university.

The election drew a large crowd of students who were excited to have had the opportunity to play a huge role in the first SUG election in the university. The exercise was impressive and peaceful, devoid of shenanigans usually associated with students’ election in many Nigerian universities, as students voted for their choice candidates at their various faculties without intimidation and molestation. In fact, the yesterday’s electoral exercise was a study in political astuteness, transparency and credibility on the part of the university management, the contestants and the entire student electorates.

A group of students’ electorate queuing to cast their votes during the election

Speaking while monitoring the election, the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Nwajiuba who was represented by his deputy, Professor Sunday Elom, expressed satisfaction with the process and delight in the good behavior of the students, noting that the exercise was geared towards broadening democratic culture among students of the university.  He also advised the incoming students’ leaders to work harmoniously with the management for the speedy growth and development of the university, noting that students of the university are highly respected by management and outsiders because of their high level of academic excellence and respect for constituted authority.  He further thanked the students for turning out in good numbers to vote for their choice candidates who will represent them in different capacities.

Rep. of VC, Professor Sunday Elom, monitoring the election yesterday at the Faculty of Humanities while a student is seen checking his name in the voter’s list

Meanwhile, the students, both those who contested and those who voted in the election had expressed their satisfaction on the process and outcome of the election, noting that it was indeed free, fair and credible. They also thanked the university management for ensuring a level playing ground for all candidates, adding that the presence of security operatives during the election also ensured that the entire process was concluded without security problem.

While declaring the results of the election at the university senate chamber, the Chairman of the SUG Election Committee and Dean Student Affairs, Dr. Charles Okolie applauded the students for conducting themselves appropriately all through the election process. He also pleaded with the university management to give the needed support to the incoming students’ leaders in order to ensure a rancor-free university, even as he also urged the newly elected SUG executive to respect constituted university authorities.

Returning Officer at the Faculty of Management and Social Sciences, Okparaji Chiedozie and other electoral officers about counting the votes cast in the faculty yesterday

The winners of the election as announced by the Chairman of the Electoral committee are as follows:


  • Njoku Francis Ogbonna  – President with   550 votes
  • Ukpai Gloria Ekwutosi – Vice President  with 582 votes
  • Odono Samuel M. –  Secretary with 988 votes
  • Iwu Ebubechi F. – Assistant Secretary with 989 votes.
  • Ngah Adanna Rebecca – Treasurer with  983 votes
  • Okafor Christian C. – Director of Socials with 772 votes
  • Akani Paul Oti – Director of Information with 531 votes
  • Onele-Ogah Lucia – Director of Finance with 967 votes
  • Ugwuoke Jude Ifeanyi –  Director of welfare with 979 votes
  • Chiemeka David E. – Director of Transport with 489 votes
  • Ukangwobia Comfort – Director of Sports with 991 votes
  • Eneh Chukwuebuka J. Internal Auditor with 974 votes


  • Faculty of Science: Udom Jeremiah Ita with 72 votes
  • Faculty of Humanities: Okorie Obinna Collins with 100 votes
  • Faculty of Agriculture: Ngwueche Christabel with 43 votes
  • Faculty of Engineering and Technology: Eze Chukwuemeka E. with 54 votes
  • Faculty of Management and Social Sciences: Njoku Emmanuel Great with 186 votes
  • Faculty of Education: Williams Chiemeria with 50 votes
  • Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences: Onyemauchechukwu Chijiuwa with 59 votes.










Leave a Comment