The Alternative Energy Committee (AEC) from the Rivers State University, Port Harcourt, River State,  on Monday 9th December, 2019, visited Alex Ekwueme Federal University, Ndufu-Alike, Ebonyi State, on fact finding regarding the 2.8 Mega Watts Installed Capacity Solar Plant in the University, under the Energizing Education Programme(EEP) of Rural Electrification Agency (REA).

DVC, Prof. Elom, receives leader of the Team with presentation of kola nut

 Receiving the 5 man team, at the Vice-Chancellor’s Conference Room, Prof. Sunday Elom, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, (Academic), who represented the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Chinedum Nwajiuba, told the visitors that the Solar Hybrid Plant which the university is enjoying now came through the Federal Government under the Energizing Education Programme. He iterated that AE-FUNAI happen to be the number 1 out of the 8 Federal Universities and 1 Federal Teaching Hospital listed in the Phase 1 Beneficiaries of the programme, adding that the project was completed and commissioned on the 2nd of August, 2019 by the Vice President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo. The Vice-Chancellor further maintained that the 2.8 mega watts installed capacity solar plant has brought 24 hours uninterrupted clean power supply and relief in diesel consumption. VC assured the team that management will give all necessary assistance to make their mission possible.

Prof. Elom making welcome speech

Prof. Josiah Ayotamuno, Leader of the Team speaking

 Prof. Josiah Ayotamuno, Chairman and Leader of the Team, stated that they are 5 Man Fact Finding Committee set up by the Vice-Chancellor, Rivers State University, Prof. (Mrs) Opuenebo Owei, to visit some other Universities that have been able to surmount their power challenges, to find out what was done, and how that happened, to guide their own University in taking decisions and finding solutions to their power challenge. “The visit will pave way in solving our power challenge especially in a sustainable way” he said. Prof. Ayotamuno thanked the university management for the warm reception accorded them. Other members of the 5 man team are; Prof. B.T. Lebele-Alara, Dr. Magareth Briggs-Kamara, Dr. Ikechukwu Anireh and Mr Evans Oguru.

Prof. Elom, in group photograph with the visiting team and some University Officers



Leave a Comment