It was a memorable day in the history of FUNAI Cooperative and Thrift Society as members elected the first substantive executive of the association on Tuesday, 14th March, 2017.

The march to yesterday’s election started on Monday, 12th March, 2017 when members of the society gathered at the University auditorium to listen to the contestants present their manifestoes in a well-attended programme that availed them the opportunity to reel-out their enviable plans for the association.

The keenly contested elections were well-managed by members of the Electoral body led by Prof. Mathew Edeoga. It was an exhibition of excellence, fairness, transparency and credibility on the part of the umpire. This show of uncommon integrity by the electoral body made the election hitch-free.

Chairman of Electoral Committee, Prof. Mathew Edeoga

At the end of proceedings, the Director of School of Foundation Studies and interim President of the Society, Dr. Onuorah Benedict Nweke retained his office as he won a landslide, defeating Dr. Ajanwachukwu Okoro 308 to 25 votes in a sweeping fashion.

Newly elected President of FUNAI Cooperative and Thrift Society, Dr. Onuorah Nweke

The position of Vice President ended up in a tie, as both Mrs. Franca Obunike and Dr. A.I Adeolu scored 165 votes each in a dramatic manner. Their case would be taken to the Congress for determination, as it was not envisaged by the constitution of the Society.

For the offices of the Secretary, Financial Secretary and Ex-Officio, Mr. Vitalis Offor, Mr. Cornelius Offia and Mr. Kingsley Oyekezie were returned unopposed, securing 333, 304 and 308 votes respectively.

Mrs. Nkechi Ogba scored 236 votes to defeat Dr. Friday Nwalo who scored 89 votes for the office of Assistant Secretary.

Mr. Gabriel Isu Idume scored 265 votes, defeating Dr. Sunday Mlanga who scored 62 votes for the position of Treasurer.

Mrs Kalu Ijeoma, a junior staff at the Bursary defeated other two contestants to clinch the position of Provost. Mrs. Kalu scored 219 votes to finish ahead of          Mr. Ozor Chukwuemeka and Mr. E. Dike who scored 55 and 57 votes respectively.

Lastly, in the position of the Public Relations Officer, Mr. Nor Edward scored 184 votes to defeat Mr. Uchechukwu Udeikwere who had 98 votes.

The tenure of the elected executive will run for 2 years.

Leave a Comment