The Senate of the Federal University Ndufu-Alike Ikwo, FUNAI, has approved the splitting into two the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences.

The Senate in its 32nd meeting approved the establishment of Faculty of Social Sciences and Management as well as Faculty of Humanities. It further appointed Professor Philip Omoke, Professor of Monetary Economics as the pioneer dean while Professor Austin Chukwu remains the dean of Faculty of Humanities.

The Faculty of Humanities, it was further approved, would house the following programmes: English, Fine and Applied Arts, French, History, Igbo, Theatre Arts, Philosophy and Music, while in the Faculty of Social Sciences and Management would be the following programmes: Economics,

Professor Chukwu

Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Accountancy and Business Administration, Banking and Finance, Mass Communication, and Criminology and Security Studies.

These bring to five the number of existing faculties in the University. Others are Faculties of Science; Engineering and Technology, and Basic Medical Sciences.

Meanwhile, the Senate in its 31st meeting approved the establishment of faculties of Agriculture and Education from the next academic session.

Leave a Comment