The Vice Chancellor, Federal University Ndufu-Alike Ikwo, Prof. Chinedum Uzoma Nwajiuba has decried the increasing spate of sexual harassment in Nigeria Universities, calling it both a shame and irresponsible for staff who are to meant to mentor and groom young students to take undue advantage of them by demanding sexual gratification under any guise.

Prof. Nwajiuba made this submission during the official inauguration of the FUNAI Committee on Sexual Harassment on Thursday, 4th August, 2016 at the Vice Chancellor’s Conference hall.

Inaugurating the Committee, the Vice Chancellor frowned at this unethical behaviour that has festered unabated for too long in some Nigeria Universities, and pledged to vehemently clamp down on it at FUNAI, and charged the Committee to give the University the right culture by creating awareness on the dangers and evils of sexual harassment.

Prof. Nwajiuba further admonished the Committee to be undaunted in the crusade of ensuring that FUNAI is not bedevilled with the social malaise, by first and foremost studying the University Policy on Sexual Harassment; and secondly developing a framework for sensitizing both the staff and students on the matter and how to address it. Here him, ‘you must give the university the right culture and ensure that proper foundation is laid in this University on the matter.’

The Vice Chancellor vowed to support the Committee to achieve their terms of reference, and stated that they were chosen to serve the University in that regard after careful scrutiny and were found to be without blemish.

 In his vote of thanks shortly after their inauguration, the chairman of the committee, Dr A.C Osigwe expressed his committee’s commitments to rid the University of such sad development. ‘’This is a university wide task and we will do our best to live up to expectation’’, he said.

Dr. Osigwe further promised to work closely with appropriate University authorities to ensure such socio-religious ills were not experienced in FUNAI, and thanked the Vice Chancellor for the confidence reposed in them.

Other members of the committee are; Dr. Godwin Nzeagwu, Dr. Mrs. Nneka Onwumere,   Mr. Rowland Amaefula and Mr. Kelechi Ani.     

Leave a Comment