• Enjoins Students to Join Hands in Making FUNAI a Green University

The Vice Chancellor of the Federal University Ndufu-Alike Ikwo (FUNAI), Ebonyi state, Prof. Chinedum Nwajiuba has inaugurated a Caretaker Committee for Students of the University. The event took place on Wednesday, 22nd March, 2017 at the University auditorium during an interactive forum with students.

A cross section of the students during the interactive meeting

The Vice Chancellor charged the members of the Students’ Caretaker Committee to see the opportunity as an avenue to contribute to the growth of the University, charging them to imbibe the spirit humility and service in the discharge of the duties and in their relationship with other students.

The Vice Chancellor further used the event to stress the importance of the green initiative of his administration meant to make the University the most beautiful and green University in Nigeria and called on students to be part of the campaign by planting trees in designated areas on campus.

VC, Prof. Chinedum Nwajiuba stressing the importance of hard work during the meeting

Admonishing the students to see their stay in FUNAI as a rare privilege considering the thousands of their contemporaries that sought for admission but could not get it, Prof. Nwajiuba warned them against indulging in vices like prostitution, alcoholism, smoking, drug abuse and the likes, noting that such would ruin their lives.

“There are so much you can do with your talents other than the so called campus attractions”, he stated.

The high point of the event was a pledge by many of the students to donate and plant trees as part of their contribution in making the University a beautiful and green campus in Nigeria, even as the Vice Chancellor blessed and prayed for them to excel in their endeavours.

Members of the Students’ Caretaker Committee include:

  1. Okafor David – President (Faculty of Humanities)
  2. Okorie Grace – Vice President (Faculty of Management and Social Sciences)
  3. Onyekwere Ikechukwu – Secretary (Faculty of Engineering and Technology)
  4. Nwode Timothy – Member
  5. Amulu Emmanuel C. – Member (Faculty of Science)
  6. Iwuh Ebubechi Felicitas – Member (Faculty of Education)
  7. Okoh Florence C. – Member (Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences)
  8. Teslim Abass – Member (Male Hostel)
  9. Edeh Michael Chukwuememeka – Member (Male Hostel)
  10. Chukwuekesie Esther – Member (Female Hostel)
  11. Chukwunyelu Prisca – Member (Female Hostel)

VC, Prof. Chinedum Nwajiuba ( C) and members of the Students’ Caretaker Committee after their inauguration

The Committee is to among other things establish and maintain a genuine cohesion between the students’ body and the University Management; ensure that all students adhere strictly to the rules and regulations guiding the University; liaise and consult with Dean of Students’ Affairs in the discharge of their assignment and ensure that students conform and maintain the University standard of becoming a world class University.

VC, Prof. Chinedum Nwajiuba exchanging greetings with members of the Committee

Leave a Comment