The Vice Chancellor of the Federal University Ndufu Alike Ikwo (FUNAI), Ebonyi State, Professor Chinedum Nwajiuba on Tuesday, 22nd of November 2016, inaugurated an Endowment Committee, to aid in scouting for funds from donor agencies, corporate organisations and good-spirited individuals to assist in the development of the University. The Committee is led by the Director of Research and Development, Prof. O. O Ugwu.


VC, Prof. Chinedum Nwajiuba (9th R) in a group photograph with members of the Committee on Endowment after their inauguration at Senate Chamber

During the inauguration which was held at the University’s Senate Chamber, Professor Nwajiuba said there is no going back to the world class vision of the University despite the dwindling revenue accruing to the University.

He stated that despite the cash crunch hitting the Nigerian varsities, FUNAI no doubt has to devise other means through which its aspiration could be attained, noting that government alone cannot fund education.  He used the opportunity to solicit the support of all Ebonyi people (host state of the University) especially the political and business elites in taking the University to greater heights, adding that the University would not achieve much without their contribution.


A cross section of members of the Committee on Endowment during their inauguration at the Senate Chamber

The Vice Chancellor said the members were carefully selected to assist the University, and charged them to deploy their political, economic, social and religious contacts to attract benefits to the University.


Speaking on behalf of the members, the chairman of the committee, Prof. O.O Ugwuu thanked the University Management for finding them worthy and pledged their towards meeting the expectations of the University. He promised to emulate the endowment funds of Ivy League varsities like Yale, Waterloo and Harvard which he said have robust funds.

Members of the committee include: Professor O.O Ugwu (Chairman), Professor Adline Idike, Professor Philip Umoke, Dr. Afam Icha-Ituma, Dr Charles Ogbakirigwe, Dr. Tina Nweze, Dr. Chinyere Elom, Dr. Chuma Okoro, Dr. Amaka Uwa, Dr. Franca Ogba, Mrs. Susan Ugorji, Ms Josephine Odion, and Ms Enene Akonjom while Ms Adaobi Ibeneme will serve as the Secretary.

Leave a Comment