The Federal University Ndufu-Alike Ikwo (FUNAI), Ebonyi State has commenced admissions into its postgraduate programmes in the 2017/2018 academic session.

The postgraduate studies of the University is starting with three Faculties, namely Basic Medical Sciences, Science and Management and Social Sciences.

Accordingly, prospective students can now obtain their postgraduate Diploma (PGD), Master’s (M.Sc.) and PhD forms from the Office of the Secretary, Postgraduate School, Needs Assessment Building at the University’s permanent site as deadline for submission of all applications is 31st January, 2018.

The full advert for admission into the approved programmes could be found on the University website – www. and in the Eastern Reckoner newspaper of Wednesday, 10th January, 2018 as well as in the Daily Times and Ebonyi Voice newspapers of Monday, 18th December, 2017.

While giving insight into the reason for commencing postgraduate studies in the University, the Vice Chancellor, Prof. Chinedum Nwajiuba noted that the University was geared towards running a well-tailored research-based and functional postgraduate programmes in order to develop the needed manpower that can drive the socio-economic development of Nigeria and beyond.

He added that FUNAI was well prepared, despite that it is relatively young, to give students the best academic training in their chosen fields, adding that at the end they would be globally competitive even as he equally promised to ensure the students benefit from the numerous international linkages and collaborations the institution has with other Universities.

The Vice Chancellor further thanked the National Universities Commission for approving the postgraduate studies of the University, pledging to ensure that the quality of the programmes is assured and maintained at all times.

The commencement of the postgraduate studies is coming after the National Universities Commission had visited the University in November 2017 for resource verification and subsequently approved its take-off in the 2017/2018 academic session.

Leave a Comment