In order to place the University on a higher academic pedestal where excellence and integrity remain the forte, the Vice Chancellor, Federal University Ndufu-Alike Ikwo, Professor Chinedum Nwajiuba has once again demonstrated his leadership sagacity by assembling people of proven academic and moral standing to head the various academic Departments and Directorates of the University.

These new appointments are meant to re-engineer and reposition the various academic Departments and Directorates to be in tandem with international best practice, and such enhance the capacities of the University as a world-class institution.

Under the Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences, the Vice Chancellor appointed Professor E. Uche- Nwachi, Professor J.O. Nwankwo and Professor A.C.U Ezimah to pilot the affairs of the departments of Anatomy, Medical Biochemistry and Physiology respectively.

Further, in the departments under the Faculty of Humanities, Professor C. Ebhigbo, Dr. E. Emeghara and Dr. Nnnena Nwosu-Nworuh were appointed to oversee the departments of Fine and Applied Arts/Music, History and Strategic Studies/ Philosophy and Languages/Linguistics/Literary Studies/Theatre Arts.

While in the Faculty of Management and Social Sciences we have the following as Heads of Department: Dr. Paul Obidike – Accountancy, Business Administration & Entrepreneurial Studies;    Dr. Ibiam Egwu – Political Science & Mass Communication; Dr. Mary Eteng – Sociology, Psychology, and Criminology & Security Studies; and Prof. Frank Ozoh – Economics and Development Studies.

More so, under the Faculty of Engineering and Technology, the Vice Chancellor appointed Professor O.O Ugwu – Civil Engineering; Professor Simon Neife – Mechanical & Mechatronics Engineering;        Dr C. Ume – Chemical & Petrochemical Engineering; and Dr. Victor Maduike – Electrical/Electronic/Computer Engineering

And in the Faculty of Sciences, Dr Chuma Okoro – Biology, Microbiology & Biotechnology; Dr Dili Ojukwu – Mathematics, Computer Science, Statistics & Informatics; Dr A.C Ekwe – Physics, Geophysics & Geology; and Dr. Richard Ehiri – Chemistry/Bio-Chemistry/Molecular Biology were put in charge.

Meanwhile, the Vice Chancellor, Professor Nwajiuba has also approved the appointment of the following academics as Heads of various Directorates in the University: Professor Kevin N. Nwogu -Academic Planning; Professor Michael Onuu- General Studies; Dr Ogugua Egwu –Entrepreneurship and Employability Centre; Dr. Emmanuel Nweze – ICT; and Dr. Omaka N. Omaka – Coordinator, SIWES.  

In other hand, Dr. C.E. Mba was also reappointed the Dean of Students’ Affairs.

The appointments are to last for one academic year, effective from 1st September, 2016 to 31st August, 2017.

In the letters conveying their appointments, Professor Nwajiuba charged the newly appointees to deploy their domain and experiential competences and wealth of experience to improve the University’s academic standard, stressing that their appointments were hinged on merits.            

Leave a Comment