A 10-man Committee on Students’ Disciplinary Matters was yesterday 13th March, 2017, inaugurated by the Vice-Chancellor of the Federal University Ndufu Alike Ikwo (FUNAI), Prof. Chinedum Nwajiuba.

Speaking during the inauguration, the Vice-Chancellor of the University, Prof. Nwajiuba who was represented in the event by this Deputy, Prof. Sunday Elom expressed delight at the character and integrity of individuals that composed the committee, stressing that they were appointed because of their untainted track records.

DVC, Prof. Sunday Elom admonishing members of the Committee to be forthright in discharging their functions

He charged them to be responsible and responsive, defend the trust reposed on them by the University authorities and act within the jurisdiction stipulated to them without bias, fear or favour.

The Vice-Chancellor further reiterated the importance of their assignment, urging them to ensure zero tolerance one campus of all vices especially indecent dressings, drug abuse, arson, rape, cultism, stealing among others. He stressed that suspects should be given fair hearing and their statements well documented and duly signed by suspects as this will prove evidence in case of legal actions. He advised them to commence forthwith the sensitization of students in that regards, in their lecture halls, notice boards, meetings and other avenues.

DVC, Prof. Sunday Elom (6th L) with members of the Students’ Disciplinary Committee after their inauguration at the VC’s Conference Room

The terms of reference of the committee include the determination of: Offences in the Hall of Residences; Gross Misconduct, Misconduct and Misdemeanor. Others include the recommendation of sanctions and punishment of offenders as stipulated in FUNAI Students’ Handbook or otherwise; to present a timely report to the Management for necessary action; and to advice the University Management where necessary in the exercise of their functions.

Earlier, the Dean of Student Affairs, Dr. Charles Okoli, noted that the exercise was a welcome development as issues and challenges emanating from students were rising to dangerous dimensions, and require urgent attention in other to arrest the ugly tide.

Responding on behalf of the Committee, the Chairman, Dr. Ejike C. C, and a Senior Lecturer in the Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences appreciated the University Management for finding them worthy to execute such arduous responsibility and pledged their commitment towards the tasks.

Other members of the Committee include: Dr. Ajanwachukwu Okoro, Dr. Anyaegbunam N. Emenike, Dr. Christiana Igberi, Dr. Okoro Nworie, Dr. Angela Ekwutosi Ozibo, Dr. Anthony Nnaemeka-Anyakorah, Barr. (Mrs.) Ogochukwu Onuorah (Legal Adviser) and Mr. Ugwuoke Austin, while Mrs. Odike Joy will serve as the Secretary.


Leave a Comment